Originally Posted on April 2, 2017

Kensington – For the first time in a number of years, the provincial Knights of Columbus Basketball Free Throw Championship was held at KISH in Kensington. The championship started at 1 pm on Saturday, April 1st and included 9 to 14 year old boys and girls from parts east and west on PEI. Each contestant attempted 25 free throws, with the highest scores for the day among the girls being Laura MacDougall of Stanley Bridge with 19 made free throws, and among the boys being Matthew Clark ok Kensington with 21 made free throws.


The provincial champions were presented trophies by Knights of Columbus State Deputy, Jazz Poirier. The provincial free throw champions are as follows:

Age                 Girls Champion          

9                      Sophie Campbell

10                    Laura MacDougall

11                    Grace Anne Lord

12                    Emily Ann MacLean

13                    Hillary Murray

14                    Kirsten Kouwenberg

Age                 Boys Champion         

9                      Seth Bulger

10                    Quinn Harrington

11                    Matthew Clark

12                    Canyon Clarke

13                    Zach Andrew

14                    Matthew Antle

The Knights of Columbus Free Throw Championship is sponsored annually, with winners progressing through local, district and provincial competitions. International champions are announced by the K of C international headquarters based on scores from the state/provincial-level competitions. All boys and girls 9 to 14 are eligible to participate and will compete in their respective age divisions. Please contact your local Knights of Columbus council to enquire about competitions in your area.

The Knights of Columbus is an international Catholic family fraternal service organization with over 1.8 million members in 15,000 local councils. Last year, Knights donated over 70 million volunteer hours and $170 million to charitable and benevolent causes, sponsoring projects to benefit their church, councils, communities, culture of life, families and youth.

 PEI Free Throw Champs - 2017 (002)

Picture Enclosed: 2017 Provincial Free Throw Champions:

Back row – L-R: Emily Ann MacLean, Zach Andrew, Hillary Murray, Kirsten Kouwenberg, Canyon Clarke and Matthew Antle

Front row – L-R: K of C Jazz Poirier, Laura MacDougall, Matthew Clark, Quinn Harrington, Seth Bulger, Grace Anne Lord, Sophie Campbell and K of C Shawn McCarvill

For more info, contact Shawn McCarvill, Council and Provincial Free Throw Chairman – 836-5029

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: